who is this visa for?

This visa is for skilled persons that are able to qualify for an occupation listed on the Skilled Occupation List (Schedule 1).

Skilled-Independent Visa

To apply for the Skilled-Independent Visa, the primary applicant must have lodged an Expression of Interest (EOI) through SkillSelect and be invited by the Australian Government to make an application.

Persons should not lodge an EOI unless they are able to satisfy the basic eligibility criteria. These include:

1. Being aged between 18 and 44 years of age;

2. Having a score of 'competent level' on an approved English language test or be the holder of a passport from the U.K., U.S.A., Canada, Ireland or New Zealand;

3. Having a posititive skills assessment for an occupation listed on the Medium to Long Term Strategic Skills List (MLTSSL); and

4. Achieving a minimum of score of 65 points on the points test.

Applicants who are unable satisfy criteria specific to the Skilled-Independent visa may be eligible for other visa options and are therefore encouraged to contact the Australian Migration Advisory. In many instances, our Agents will be able to recommend ways that you can improve your points test score, or discuss possible temporary solutions. These may include the:

Skilled Occupation Lists

Obligations as a Skilled-Independent Visa Holder

This is a Permanent visa allowing the holder to remain in Australia indefinitely. There are no work or study restrictions placed on this visa.